Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Fuji X Series > Fuji X-A, X-E, X-M, X-T Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

do you play with the settings on your fuji?
Old 03-08-2016   #1
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is online now
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 40,212
do you play with the settings on your fuji?

i wonder if folks make a one time adjustment and then just leave it be?
or do you change the adjustments and check for differences in the results?
i'm talking about things like sharpness, highlights, shadows etc...

i have read some articles that showed images and what settings were used and if i liked the pics then i tried the settings...but i'm just not that technical or committed on the follow up.
i mostly leave everything set at 0 and work on the images in post.
what do you do?
__________________
heart soul & a camera

xt20...xe2...xe1...
16...23...23...27...50...56...55-200

original canon F1...T90...24/2.8...100/2.8...200/2.8...300/5.6
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2016   #2
edge100
Registered User
 
edge100 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 630
Nope. I shoot RAW + Fine, Classic Chrome. I use the JPGs for quick proofs or for emails, and RAWs for proper editing.

The only things I toggle are ND filter (X100T) and flash.
__________________
Former street photographer
The Definitive Guide to Scanning Film with a Digital Camera
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2016   #3
FrankS
Registered User
 
FrankS's Avatar
 
FrankS is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada, eh.
Age: 60
Posts: 19,438
Just the default settings.
__________________
my little website: http://frankfoto.jimdo.com/

photography makes me happy
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2016   #4
burancap
Registered User
 
burancap's Avatar
 
burancap is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Carolina
Age: 52
Posts: 2,196
Always default, but then I tried some adjustments months ago from a thread here. I quickly forgot about the adjustments and only rediscovered the changes when I dove back into evaluate my dissatisfaction with what I was seeing. Back to default again!
__________________
Jeff
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2016   #5
BillBingham2
Registered User
 
BillBingham2's Avatar
 
BillBingham2 is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ames, Iowa, USA
Posts: 5,262
While very early in the post, I remember folks tweaking lots of setting on their Nikon DSLRs a few years back on another forum.

I wonder if Fuji just as the stock setting right and/or Nikon didn't?

Good Question, this will be fun to watch.

B2 (;->
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2016   #6
Trius
Waiting on Maitani
 
Trius's Avatar
 
Trius is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rochester, NY & Toronto area
Posts: 8,274
I've been playing around, but only because I'm getting to know the camera, the options and possibilities. By the time I take my trip I'll settle on a configuration that will be "permanent" except for ISO.
__________________
My Gallery Flickr
Fine grain is a bourgeois concept

Happiness is APX100 and Rodinal 1:100

A bunch o cameras. Does it really matter?
And NOW ... Fuji X-Pro1 w/ 18-55, 18/2 & adapted Zuikos and Hexanons
http://zuikoholic.tumblr.com
https://www.instagram.com/e.r.dunbar/
http://weedram.blogspot.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2016   #7
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is online now
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 40,212
i am set up for raw plus b&w jpeg...and i adjusted the settings to ones i read about that had pics that i liked...
hopefully i'll keep you posted.
__________________
heart soul & a camera

xt20...xe2...xe1...
16...23...23...27...50...56...55-200

original canon F1...T90...24/2.8...100/2.8...200/2.8...300/5.6
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2016   #8
FrankS
Registered User
 
FrankS's Avatar
 
FrankS is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada, eh.
Age: 60
Posts: 19,438
I think it would be very difficult to determine if the characteristics you like in posted pictures are due to camera settings or post processing.
__________________
my little website: http://frankfoto.jimdo.com/

photography makes me happy
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2016   #9
Jamie Pillers
Skeptic
 
Jamie Pillers's Avatar
 
Jamie Pillers is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oakland, California
Posts: 3,798
I try to make my experience with digital cameras (Fuji these days) emulate what I loved about using film cameras. So, in other words, I try to keep it simple. Select whatever menu items are necessary to emulate selecting a film stock. Then just using aperture and shutter speed for the rest of the day. Sometimes I allow myself the pleasurable flexibility of moving ISO around even "Auto Iso"! :-o
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2016   #10
FrankS
Registered User
 
FrankS's Avatar
 
FrankS is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada, eh.
Age: 60
Posts: 19,438
Hi Jamie! Does auto ISO work in manual exposure control?
__________________
my little website: http://frankfoto.jimdo.com/

photography makes me happy
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2016   #11
Jamie Pillers
Skeptic
 
Jamie Pillers's Avatar
 
Jamie Pillers is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oakland, California
Posts: 3,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankS View Post
Hi Jamie! Does auto ISO work in manual exposure control?
Yes. I use the Q menu to set the ISO to "Auto 800" often, while aperture and shutter speeds are set manually.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-09-2016   #12
rybolt
Registered User
 
rybolt's Avatar
 
rybolt is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Yellow Springs, Ohio
Posts: 573
I work at the defaults using both Raw and Jpeg. I use lightroom and Pete Bridgwood's sharpening presets for the Raw files depending on the subject of the picture. I find that if I get too carried away with the menus and technical capabilities of the camera I miss seeing things that I would shoot. I shoot only full manual exposure and use the EVF as a light meter. I pay no attention to the +/- scale in the EVF as the preview is so accurate in the XT1 cameras.
__________________
Fuji X Pro 1,XT 1and XF1 cameras and lenses.
Sony RX1
Leica M6 with black Wetzlar 50mm
A pair of Barnack Anniversary cameras
Who knows how many others

http://www.ryboltcox.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-09-2016   #13
jsrockit
Moderator
 
jsrockit's Avatar
 
jsrockit is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Santiago, Chile
Age: 43
Posts: 18,070
I use RAW only. And then process any photo that I care about separately. I actually like post processing.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-09-2016   #14
Kiev Ilegalac
Registered User
 
Kiev Ilegalac's Avatar
 
Kiev Ilegalac is offline
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 54
I use jpeg only and like to play with the settings. I even like to use in camera BW and not convert color jpegs to BW >> I find them easy to adjust to my liking with the just few steps in PSD.

forgot to mention, fuji x100
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-09-2016   #15
willie_901
Registered User
 
willie_901's Avatar
 
willie_901 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsrockit View Post
I use RAW only. And then process any photo that I care about separately. I actually like post processing.
Me too.


here are some pointless extra characters.
__________________
"Perspective is governed by where you stand object size and the angle of view included in the picture is determined by focal length." H.S. Newcombe

williamchuttonjr.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-09-2016   #16
willie_901
Registered User
 
willie_901's Avatar
 
willie_901 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,529
I rarely change menu settings on my X-T1 or X100T.

I do change AF modes depending on the task at hand. This is a change for me as the new firmware and PDAF sensors on the XTrans II sensors provide more flexibility. When I owned a X-Pro1 I never changed the menu settings.
__________________
"Perspective is governed by where you stand object size and the angle of view included in the picture is determined by focal length." H.S. Newcombe

williamchuttonjr.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-09-2016   #17
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is online now
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 40,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankS View Post
I think it would be very difficult to determine if the characteristics you like in posted pictures are due to camera settings or post processing.
very true...
__________________
heart soul & a camera

xt20...xe2...xe1...
16...23...23...27...50...56...55-200

original canon F1...T90...24/2.8...100/2.8...200/2.8...300/5.6
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-09-2016   #18
johnwolf
Registered User
 
johnwolf's Avatar
 
johnwolf is online now
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by back alley View Post
i wonder if folks make a one time adjustment and then just leave it be?....
Either scenario sounds so difficult to me. First you'd have to understand exactly what the vendor's jpeg engine is doing (and like it). Then you'd have to learn the effects of each in-camera filter -- without being able to precisely gauge the outcome until you're at the computer.

And since almost every file seems to require at least somewhat different processing, how could one standardize except on some minimal baseline starting point?

But this is coming from one who's only shot raw -- and really appreciates its concept. Maybe jpeg is easier than it sounds.

John
__________________
tumblr
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-09-2016   #19
macjim
Registered User
 
macjim's Avatar
 
macjim is offline
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by edge100 View Post
Nope. I shoot RAW .
Same here too
__________________
Cheers, Macjim
  Reply With Quote

I use all the custom profiles...
Old 03-09-2016   #20
kuzano
Registered User
 
kuzano is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,965
I use all the custom profiles...

Quote:
Originally Posted by back alley View Post
i wonder if folks make a one time adjustment and then just leave it be?
or do you change the adjustments and check for differences in the results?
i'm talking about things like sharpness, highlights, shadows etc...

i have read some articles that showed images and what settings were used and if i liked the pics then i tried the settings...but i'm just not that technical or committed on the follow up.
i mostly leave everything set at 0 and work on the images in post.
what do you do?
My X-E2 has 7 custom profiles. They are all set for various shooting styles, including a couple of film simulations. Only have to remember which profile for the shot being taken.

I find many youtube videos and Camera forums where custom settings are listed. Just sit down with your camera. Fill all the profiles for various shoots, and never tamper in the field. Do it at home before heading out. Set and forget except for what each profile does.

I am unlikely to do as you suggested. Use the capabilities of the camera. I do not shoot RAW, nor do I post process, other than minimally. I devote 5 minutes or less to PP on any one photograph, if that. The camera's can do nearly what one can do in PP if you learn the camera settings well. Of course, that means buying a camera and sticking with it, perhaps passing up two or three new models with tiny evolutionary steps. More money to travel to locations.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-09-2016   #21
harpofreely
Registered User
 
harpofreely is offline
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 202
Assuming aperture, shutter speed, and exposure comp. are more "shooting parameters" than settings, the only one I change often is the minimum shutter speed in auto iso, so I can maintain an minimum speed appropriate to my focal length. Other than that, raw+jpeg, B&W with green filter, everything on zero.

I hate post processing, and am always trying for an image that works in b&w. So long as I don't clip highlights, I can usually do all the fine-tuning I want even with the crappy tools in the Apple Photos app. The RAW is just insurance for when "it should have been color" or blown highlights.

When you are using a Fuji lens, not legacy glass, the body "knows" the focal length, yes? Would be awesome if you could set the auto iso min shutter to "1 / focal length" or "1 / (focal length * 2)"
__________________
Our inventions are wont to be pretty toys, which distract our attention from serious things. They are but improved means to an unimproved end, an end which it was already but too easy to arrive at...

- Henry David Thoreau
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-09-2016   #22
boomguy57
Registered User
 
boomguy57's Avatar
 
boomguy57 is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Age: 34
Posts: 860
Not as often as I thought I would, surprisingly.
__________________
Website ~ Blog ~ Flickr

"Only a Sith deals in absolutes." - Obi-Wan Kenobi
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-09-2016   #23
daveleo
what?
 
daveleo's Avatar
 
daveleo is offline
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: People's Republic of Mass.
Posts: 3,623
For the most part, the only setting I change during a set of shots might be the "shadow mode". It's a game with me "can I guess in-advance what I want the final result to look like?"
I will RAF-JPG convert in the camera using "camera settings" plus maybe 3 variations. Then look at them on a computer.

I can't recall ever being prefectly happy with any picture - every one needs to be computer tweaked.
__________________
Dave


"Insults are pouring down on me as thick as hail." .... E. Manet
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-09-2016   #24
geertvn
Registered User
 
geertvn is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 87
I sometimes change white balance from auto to kelvin with some color adjustment when shooting concerts under led lights. That's the only thing I change in the menues. I've set 'Preview exposure in manual' and the 4-way controller to change focus points and that's it, all else is standard. I shoot Raw+Jpg, but never use the ooc jpgs (they're too heavily compressed for my taste).
  Reply With Quote

do you play with the settings on your fuji?
Old 01-24-2017   #25
galavanter
Registered User
 
galavanter's Avatar
 
galavanter is offline
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 142
do you play with the settings on your fuji?

Quote:
Originally Posted by back alley View Post
i am set up for raw plus b&w jpeg...and i adjusted the settings to ones i read about that had pics that i liked...
hopefully i'll keep you posted.


Please share your settings.

I don't have the camera yet but I guess I made a commitment to get one since I purchased a used XF 10-24 yesterday.

I recently decided to get a real camera again after way too many iPhone pics.

I came close to buying another R-D1 plus 35 UC Hexanon, my old combo. One of those lenses went for $1500 used yesterday.

After looking through the X-T2 EVF the other day I decided my RF romance was over. The size, eye relief, and magnification over the X-Pro2 are just too welcome for my aging eyes.

I am anxious to try raw+Acros. How does the grain setting work with it? Is noise reduction setting grayed out when using Acros?

I suppose I would keep mine set to the lowest -2 for other film simulations.

Edit: Sorry I don't know why I mistook this thread as an X-T2 thread. Anyone with one who can answer my questions?
__________________
Jim
  Reply With Quote

do you play with the settings on your fuji?
Old 01-24-2017   #26
galavanter
Registered User
 
galavanter's Avatar
 
galavanter is offline
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 142
do you play with the settings on your fuji?

I think back alley was referring to jpeg settings, although he still does PP.

I want to avoid PP if possible, and my only concern is noise reduction being too heavy even at -2.

Hopefully it is improved or different from X100S. This article was rather convincing:
http://www.rachelrufferblog.com/for-...oting-raw-now/

My apologies for talking about noise in advance...

Edit: Sorry I don't know why I mistook this thread as an X-T2 thread. Anyone with one who can answer my questions?
__________________
Jim
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-24-2017   #27
Brian Atherton
Registered User
 
Brian Atherton's Avatar
 
Brian Atherton is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Based in Blighty
Posts: 440
Played around, reverted to default. The only thing I alter is the Exposure Compensation Dial.

X-Pro2: Acros or Classic Chrome, Auto ISO (and occasionally a set ISO), Aperture Priority, with the EV.

Post processing with PS.
__________________
Brian

"Maintenant, mon ami !"
http://www.asingulareye.wordpress.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-04-2017   #28
Dogman
Registered User
 
Dogman is offline
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 665
When I got my first Fuji, an XP1, I played with the settings a lot and only shot JPEG. Later, I started shooting Raw+JPEG and still played with the settings. I found I seldom used the JPEGs since the Raw files could be adjusted easily in post processing and I wasn't so keen on Fuji's colors out of camera anyway. Finally, after acquiring other Fuji bodies, I settled on shooting Raw and left everything set on zero. Most recently, I've been shooting Raw with Film Simulation set to Monochrome. I've become more interested in B&W lately--my love of B&W was how I got interested in photography to begin with over 40 years ago. But it's handy to have those original color Raw files available.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-04-2017   #29
willie_901
Registered User
 
willie_901's Avatar
 
willie_901 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,529
Even though I never record in-camera JPEGs, at one time I played with JPEG settings to alter the behavior of the on-screen histogram.

Since the histogram is computed from a JPEG, the goal was to minimize overexposure and clipping by improving the relationship between the JEPG and the histogram. With the camera set to auto WB, I used different in-camera JPEG parameters to match the in-camera histogram to the LR histogram of a raw images with the development parameters zeroed.

I did this at base ISO and assumed increases in ISO didn't matter as sensor exposure when the shutter is open decreases as ISO increases.

Eventually I used the histogram less and less. I found auto-bracketing exposures by -1/3, 0, + 1/3 (or even 1/2) F stops was much quicker and more just as effective. A fast SDHC card is convenient.

When the camera is on a tripod and there is time to concentrate on exposure, I use the Fujifilm Camera Remote app with an iPad. Now the JPEG rendering parameters become relevant to what I'll see with the raw in LR.
__________________
"Perspective is governed by where you stand object size and the angle of view included in the picture is determined by focal length." H.S. Newcombe

williamchuttonjr.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-04-2017   #30
shawn
Registered User
 
shawn is offline
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by galavanter View Post
After looking through the X-T2 EVF the other day I decided my RF romance was over. The size, eye relief, and magnification over the X-Pro2 are just too welcome for my aging eyes.

I am anxious to try raw+Acros. How does the grain setting work with it? Is noise reduction setting grayed out when using Acros?

I suppose I would keep mine set to the lowest -2 for other film simulations.
The grain setting should not be used with ACROS. That functionality is already built into ACROS processing as it is part of its NR. You adjust grain with ISO.

I usually shoot ACROS (and most everything else) with NR at -4 on the XP2. If I am shooting really high ISO I might bump it to -3.

That is for JPEGs from the camera, not RAFs in PP BTW.

Shawn
  Reply With Quote

Wow
Old 02-04-2017   #31
DwF
Registered User
 
DwF's Avatar
 
DwF is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington State
Posts: 682
Wow

Really, -4 NR. I just got the camera but have used XE2 and X100S in the past. I mostly process RAF but am trying to dial in Acros now so I will give that a try! What do you do with your sharpness?
__________________
DwF DwFs Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-04-2017   #32
shawn
Registered User
 
shawn is offline
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 416
Typically leave it at default. I sometimes will play with the highlight and shadow controls but the defaults work pretty well. I might tweak the JPEG slightly in LR and I will use the AutoDR as needed too or set it to DR400 if need. (Wish the XP2 would select that in Auto like the XP1 would)

I rarely bother with RAW unless the lighting is very wacky either from a WB point of view or being very harsh.

Shawn
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:58.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.