Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Hardware / Computers / Drives / etc

Hardware / Computers / Drives / etc This is the place to discuss the hardware to keep your digital pics more than just memories.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Applecares
Old 02-26-2017   #1
f16sunshine
Moderator
 
f16sunshine's Avatar
 
f16sunshine is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Seattle
Age: 49
Posts: 5,582
Applecares

Apple service just continues to deliver.

I took my computer, an iMac27 in last tuesday for a hardware test as my applecare was expiring on thursday of last week.
They noted the display had some backlight unevenness which I had noticed but did not think much of.
I left the computer for a "back stage" complete hardware test.

Today I got a call that it was ready for pick up. They had replaced the Display, Fusion drive, and mother board all covered

This was a computer they gave me as a replacement for a MacBook Pro 17" in 2014. The MBP had a display that went wonky and was no longer available as the 17" was phased out.
The actual replacement was a full spec 15" Retina that they allowed me to exchange for this iMac27 as I needed a desktop more than another laptop at that time.
I had the 15" retina for a week and asked if I could exchange for like value and the manager at Bellevue Square store said sure.

So the timeline is like this.
I bought the 17" in late 2011.
They replaced it in 2014 under applecare.
Allowed me to buy Applecare for the new replacement computer.
Now basically rebuild the new computer with only a couple days of warranty remaining.
I paid for one computer in 2011 with applecare and paid again for applecare in 2014.

I know some will say " well you pay for it Macs are expensive" and,... there were some tested issues even if they had not yet surfaced in use .... ok sure that's all true.

How often do you hear stories of Customer service like this?
It's the best advertising in the world and Apple deserves it.
Now if only Aperture was not orphaned

A happy story and I thought I should share it.
__________________
Andy
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-26-2017   #2
sepiareverb
genius and moron
 
sepiareverb's Avatar
 
sepiareverb is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: St Johnsbury VT
Posts: 7,529
Wow. Well done Andy.
__________________
-Bob
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-26-2017   #3
BillBingham2
Registered User
 
BillBingham2's Avatar
 
BillBingham2 is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ames, Iowa, USA
Posts: 5,237
While we pay a premium price for their product I've always found I get premium service from them.

When they stick a 16mp camera in an iPhone they become one of my favorite camera makers......

B2 (;->
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-26-2017   #4
Rob-F
It's Only a Hobby
 
Rob-F's Avatar
 
Rob-F is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Show Me state
Posts: 4,711
Apple tells me that Aperture continues to run OK right up to the latest OS. It's just that they can't promise that some future revision of an existing OS will still be aperture compatible.
__________________
May the light be with you.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-27-2017   #5
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7,731
Apple has always taken good care of me too when it comes to warranty and service on my personal equipment. I've never had a single problem with the company when it comes to customer service, and I've been using Apple systems since 1984.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob-F View Post
Apple tells me that Aperture continues to run OK right up to the latest OS. It's just that they can't promise that some future revision of an existing OS will still be aperture compatible.
Aperture is still installed and still usable on my macOS X Sierra system. But Apple is no longer selling Aperture or putting development money into it, and hasn't for a year or two at this point. It's no longer tested for compatibility, in other words. At some point, something in the OS will change that makes it no longer able to run properly.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:45.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.