Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Fuji X Series > Fuji X-100 Series

Fuji X-100 Series This forum is for fans of the rangefinder retrostyled Fuji X Series of digital cameras.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Is a 32gb card too large for an X100?
Old 01-18-2017   #1
Nyc Dito
Registered User
 
Nyc Dito's Avatar
 
Nyc Dito is offline
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 55
Is a 32gb card too large for an X100?

So i was just wondering if i over bought on the memory card. I purchased a 32gb extreme 90mb (UHS-I class 3) made by Sandisk. And of course i read on the beloved Ken Rockwell site that it wasn't suggested to get anything more than 16gb.

The owners manual makes no reference.

thank you!
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-18-2017   #2
jsrockit
Moderator
 
jsrockit's Avatar
 
jsrockit is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NYC
Age: 43
Posts: 17,913
The cameras is old, so I would think 32gb cards were not the norm then. Does it work when you use it? Then it works.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-18-2017   #3
Nyc Dito
Registered User
 
Nyc Dito's Avatar
 
Nyc Dito is offline
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsrockit View Post
The cameras is old, so I would think 32gb cards were not the norm then. Does it work when you use it? Then it works.
lol, yea it works. I asked because i see after i take any picture the LED lights up red and green for a few seconds. I think im just used to a DSLR's fast write times.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-24-2017   #4
Karlovak
Registered User
 
Karlovak's Avatar
 
Karlovak is offline
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 11
I wonder if a superfast SD would speed up the X100 by any noticeable manner.
__________________
BLOG
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-24-2017   #5
Dogman
Registered User
 
Dogman is offline
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 648
No. It's just a card. It will run at the speed of the camera.

And, no, you didn't overbuy. Again: it's just a card. It has a large capacity and a high speed. If you never need the large capacity or the high speed, it will function perfectly at the capacity and speed you use.

From my personal standpoint, I use 32 GB Sandisk cards in all my cameras right now. I have no real need for the higher speed and I've never even filled up the 2 GB cards that I used years ago.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-24-2017   #6
willie_901
Registered User
 
willie_901's Avatar
 
willie_901 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,494
A X100 raw file is almost 20 MB.

The fastest possible transfer rate is wasted with the X100. I don't remember the X100 data transfer specification, but it's well below the current cameras.

I suspect a 16 GB card would suffice. In my view the best way to spend money is to avoid counterfeit cards. I'm not sure how to avoid counterfeit cards with 100% certainty.
__________________
"Perspective is governed by where you stand object size and the angle of view included in the picture is determined by focal length." H.S. Newcombe

williamchuttonjr.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-24-2017   #7
crsantin
Registered User
 
crsantin is offline
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 55
I use a 32 gig card in my x100. No issues. Write times aren't the greatest but it's an older camera.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-24-2017   #8
Karlovak
Registered User
 
Karlovak's Avatar
 
Karlovak is offline
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 11
I meant whether it would quicken the write speed - switching from shooting to image review - which is my main pet peeve with this camera.
I use a cheapo Silicon Power class 6 in my X100 and I know class 10 Superior doesn't make a difference, which works just fine for my dSLR.
__________________
BLOG
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-25-2017   #9
Dogman
Registered User
 
Dogman is offline
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 648
Karlovak, the camera can only write so fast. Using a faster card won't make it write any faster.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-25-2017   #10
Stuart John
Registered User
 
Stuart John's Avatar
 
Stuart John is offline
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 571
I think all SD cards are the same size so it should fit OK.
__________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/photogsjm/
http://www.sjmphotography.co.nr/

Canonet QL17, Canonet 28, Zorki C
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-25-2017   #11
tbhv55
Registered User
 
tbhv55 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Devon, UK
Age: 61
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nyc Dito View Post
I asked because i see after i take any picture the LED lights up red and green for a few seconds.
This is normal on the x100.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-26-2017   #12
Karlovak
Registered User
 
Karlovak's Avatar
 
Karlovak is offline
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogman View Post
Karlovak, the camera can only write so fast. Using a faster card won't make it write any faster.
Found this article http://www.stuff-review.com/2011-10/...e-x100-faster/
__________________
BLOG
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 20:09.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.