X-Pro 2 viewfinder question
Old 01-12-2017   #1
sepiareverb
Dead ringer for Mr Grinch
 
sepiareverb's Avatar
 
sepiareverb is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: St Johnsbury VT
Posts: 7,432
X-Pro 2 viewfinder question

Wondering what happens in the viewfinder of an X-Pro 2 when the camera is set to 1:1 crop.

Thanks.
__________________
-Bob
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2017   #2
Fotobot
Registered User
 
Fotobot is offline
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 46
It shows square frame lines in the OVF. And it shows a square image if using the EVF.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2017   #3
sepiareverb
Dead ringer for Mr Grinch
 
sepiareverb's Avatar
 
sepiareverb is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: St Johnsbury VT
Posts: 7,432
Many thanks Fotobot, I couldn't find that info anywhere. Very little about the 1:1 mode at all.
__________________
-Bob
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2017   #4
scott kirkpatrick
Registered User
 
scott kirkpatrick is offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 37
I was about to add that the full frame would probably still be saved in the raw file, maybe without any cropping information, since cropping indications are usually dependent on your choice of raw file renderer, but I realized I have never tried alternate formats on the X-Pro2. And when I went to check this, I could not find any way to set up 1:1, much less 4:3 or 16:9 on mine.

Read the manual, went through all the menus. No format command.

Can anyone help me see what I am missing. Mostly, format changes are not something I would do, but 1:1 with wide angles is sometimes appealing.

scott
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2017   #5
fenixv8
Registered User
 
fenixv8's Avatar
 
fenixv8 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 114
its actually the very first line of the first menu. hit the menu button twice and its there.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2017   #6
twopointeight
Registered User
 
twopointeight is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 350
I'm just running some comparisons between a b&w portrait shot with a Rolleiflex TLR and one shot with the XT2 set on square b&w jpeg plus RAW. I would use the jpeg just for reference and go to the RAW file processed through Silver Efex2.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2017   #7
Fotobot
Registered User
 
Fotobot is offline
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by fenixv8 View Post
its actually the very first line of the first menu. hit the menu button twice and its there.
Yes, Fuji calls it "Image Size". Instead of 3:2, choose 1:1. First item on first menu tab. You can also put it on the Quick Menu.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2017   #8
Fotobot
Registered User
 
Fotobot is offline
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott kirkpatrick View Post
I was about to add that the full frame would probably still be saved in the raw file, maybe without any cropping information, since cropping indications are usually dependent on your choice of raw file renderer, but I realized I have never tried alternate formats on the X-Pro2. And when I went to check this, I could not find any way to set up 1:1, much less 4:3 or 16:9 on mine.

Read the manual, went through all the menus. No format command.

Can anyone help me see what I am missing. Mostly, format changes are not something I would do, but 1:1 with wide angles is sometimes appealing.

scott
Yes, the full frame is saved in the Raw file. The cropping information is there, so Lightroom will show the square cropping, but you can remove it and still use the full 3:2 frame if you decide you don't want the square.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2017   #9
sepiareverb
Dead ringer for Mr Grinch
 
sepiareverb's Avatar
 
sepiareverb is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: St Johnsbury VT
Posts: 7,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fotobot View Post
Yes, the full frame is saved in the Raw file. The cropping information is there, so Lightroom will show the square cropping, but you can remove it and still use the full 3:2 frame if you decide you don't want the square.
Interesting. The Ricoh GR does not do this to my knowledge, I will have to check.
__________________
-Bob
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2017   #10
scott kirkpatrick
Registered User
 
scott kirkpatrick is offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 37
Aha! Thanks for the pointer. That first line was greyed out when I reviewed the menus, because I only save the raw files. I added a jpeg and the line lit up. I set 1:1 and got the 1:1 framelines. The saved jpeg as indeed square. The raw file was full, but in Capture One, which I use, the square crop suggestion does not appear as a starting point. (Something to take up with PhaseOne.) But when I switched back to only saving a jpeg, the image size returned to default 3:2.

This might be one of those cameras in which you need to save a big jpeg if you ever want to blow things up to see if your shot is sharp. Is that the case?

scott
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2017   #11
sepiareverb
Dead ringer for Mr Grinch
 
sepiareverb's Avatar
 
sepiareverb is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: St Johnsbury VT
Posts: 7,432
That's unfortunate. I much prefer raw only, and squares are a big part of my work. I suppose it is the center of the full frame, so not crazy difficult to crop in a raw converter, but that would annoy me I think.
__________________
-Bob
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2017   #12
Fotobot
Registered User
 
Fotobot is offline
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 46
@scott kirkpatrick, I don't think you need to save a big jpg. You can make a plenty sharp file from the Raw, and you can judge sharpness pretty well from the Raw. Shooting a large jpg together with the Raw does allow you to zoom in more on the back of the camera. I hardly ever do that, so maybe it's not as important for me. But I am shooting jpg + Raw just to see how the jpg files look with the various film simulations. This way I have the best of both.

@sepiareverb, It's not a problem as you can shoot Raw + small jpg (if you don't want a large jpg). That way you get the square format and the square framing in the viewfinder, and it becomes your starting point if you use Lightroom to work on the Raw file. The small jpg hardly takes up any space.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 14:11.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.