Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Leicas and other Leica Mount Cameras > Leica M8 / M8.2 / Ricoh GXR

Leica M8 / M8.2 / Ricoh GXR Smaller than full frame digital Leica M mount cameras. The Ricoh is included as a less expensive and viable digital Leica M lens platform.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

How do I encourage the M8 in low light ?
Old 09-24-2016   #1
dee
Registered User
 
dee's Avatar
 
dee is offline
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: M25 south UK
Posts: 1,802
How do I encourage the M8 in low light ?

I read somewhere that the M8 could increase light sensitivity without excess grain - how do I do this ?
Thanks
dee
__________________
Amedeo Contaxed Leica M8/Brian Sweeney J3.
Minoltas and Kontaxes , Leica likes.
Digitals including classic-to-me Leica Dig3 and comfortable Sony A290 .
Upstaged by stylish Fuji X-Pro 1 and quirky Pentax K-S1
Puns,Cameras and snapshots keeping ASD and dees'ruptive Girl/Boy/Me?' constant dee'sorientation contained.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-2016   #2
Black
Photographer.
 
Black's Avatar
 
Black is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 557
Not sure you can, dee. The M8 is limited by its CCD sensor and its firmware.

Your best option is lower ISO and increased exposure times.

Or a flash.
__________________
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-2016   #3
rbelyell
Registered User
 
rbelyell is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,341
or an rd1 which yields lovely results at 1600. ):
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-2016   #4
tom.w.bn
Registered User
 
tom.w.bn is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbelyell View Post
or an rd1 which yields lovely results at 1600. ):
Was that the question?
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-2016   #5
tom.w.bn
Registered User
 
tom.w.bn is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,673
You can increase exposure in the raw converter one or two steps. So you if you needed 1/60, f2 and ISO 1250 you could try 1/60, f2 and ISO 320 and "overexpose" the underexposed photo in the software later. With the M8 you are quite limited. With my M8 I got sometimes nasty banding when I increase above 1 EV. Sometimes it worked. With the M9 I can increase up to 3EV without problems.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-2016   #6
Ong
Registered User
 
Ong is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 180
Wasn't there a thing a while back of running it at 160-320 and using the exposure comp to get your desired ISO, then running it through LR to boost up to the required levels that got better results than in camera?
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-2016   #7
willie_901
Registered User
 
willie_901's Avatar
 
willie_901 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,501
Maximize exposure at base ISO (200?)... let unimportant highlights over expose.
  • use DNG
  • use ISO 640 or lower
  • increase image brightness during post-production rendering in Lightroom

During DNG rendering you can selectively lift the shadow regions and you can also use a brush tool to selective apply noise filtering (a.k.a. 'noise reduction')
__________________
"Perspective is governed by where you stand object size and the angle of view included in the picture is determined by focal length." H.S. Newcombe

williamchuttonjr.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-2016   #8
froyd
Registered User
 
froyd's Avatar
 
froyd is offline
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black View Post
Not sure you can, dee. The M8 is limited by its CCD sensor and its firmware.

Your best option is lower ISO and increased exposure times.

Or a flash.
My admittedly limited understanding is that longer exposure times generate more noise as the sensor warms up.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-2016   #9
mbf4755
Matt Filippini
 
mbf4755's Avatar
 
mbf4755 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 46
Are you thinking of this?

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/foru...d.php?t=138041

Post #35 shows an ISO 2500 example.

I have no expeience with the M8 or this workaround. I only remembered the thread.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-2016   #10
tom.w.bn
Registered User
 
tom.w.bn is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by froyd View Post
My admittedly limited understanding is that longer exposure times generate more noise as the sensor warms up.
But not in the range of more or less hand holdable times. If you expose more than 4 sec. (when I remember right) the camera takes a 2nd black-image taken with the same exposure time and subtracts all the noise from the first image.

Just looked in my library and found quite a lot of longer exposures with the M8 up to 24 sec at ISO 160. There is no noise problem.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-26-2016   #11
dee
Registered User
 
dee's Avatar
 
dee is offline
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: M25 south UK
Posts: 1,802
Thanks everyone.dee
__________________
Amedeo Contaxed Leica M8/Brian Sweeney J3.
Minoltas and Kontaxes , Leica likes.
Digitals including classic-to-me Leica Dig3 and comfortable Sony A290 .
Upstaged by stylish Fuji X-Pro 1 and quirky Pentax K-S1
Puns,Cameras and snapshots keeping ASD and dees'ruptive Girl/Boy/Me?' constant dee'sorientation contained.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 20:17.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.