Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Digital Cameras > Sigma / Foveon Cameras

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 11-15-2012   #41
jsrockit
Moderator
 
jsrockit's Avatar
 
jsrockit is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NYC
Age: 42
Posts: 16,858
I'll continue to use my toy camera to make my insignificant little photos...
__________________
Fujifilm X-Pro2 / X100T / X-E2 / X70 and Nikon DF
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-2012   #42
dfatty
Registered User
 
dfatty's Avatar
 
dfatty is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan Wood View Post
Sorry, trying to work within the parameters of the forum....
thanks for the photos, though a little larger might be better to see the detail this camera captures
__________________
Dean
  Reply With Quote

HU-B&H special
Old 11-23-2012   #43
nlubis
Registered User
 
nlubis's Avatar
 
nlubis is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 399
HU-B&H special

Hi guys. Have been dreaming the Sigma DP1M for a while now, or maybe the DP2M .

B&H has them for -$150 until the 27th.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-23-2012   #44
jsrockit
Moderator
 
jsrockit's Avatar
 
jsrockit is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NYC
Age: 42
Posts: 16,858
Thanks for the head's up nlubis.
__________________
Fujifilm X-Pro2 / X100T / X-E2 / X70 and Nikon DF
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-25-2012   #45
loplop
Registered User
 
loplop is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Just a quick note: you MUST shoot RAW and process via SPP with these cameras. The JPEGs are indeed fairly soft and lacking in DR. A properly functioning DP1M will be quite noticeably sharper than a M8. It's also a fair sight sharper than my XPro. Of course, rendering is a little different, and beauty is in the eye of the beholder, there. Sharpness isn't everything.

In any case... I've had my DP1M for a bit now and have enjoyed it quite a bit. I don't find focus to be too bad; in decent light it's quite good, in poor light it can hunt but the MF implementation is so much better than my XPro I don't care. Magnify in MF with a touch of a button and on half-press you get the full view of the frame to compose. Brilliant.

The camera in operation is quite fluid, and although it takes FOREVER to view a photo you just shot (you can keep shooting while it writes, just not view), the AF is far more accurate than my XPro so I don't feel the need to chimp. Shoot it like film.

I personally find the files beautiful, very much like slide film.

The negative is its very much like slide film!

I really love 28mm so I started with the DP1M, but I love the output so much I grabbed a DP2M at B&H's sale to put under the Christmas tree. I foresee using them quite like my XPro with the 28/50 duo.

Here's my shots so far on my Flickr. I haven't had time yet to take it into its natural element, but so far I've enjoyed it just for daily life photography.
  Reply With Quote

Stalls
Old 11-30-2012   #46
nlubis
Registered User
 
nlubis's Avatar
 
nlubis is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 399
Stalls

I just got my DP1M. I think it might be defective.
The first sign was, I turn on the camera with the new out of the box battery. It turned on, with a low battery notice (to be expected), but I couldn't turn it off again.

Second, after the battery was charged, i formated a card, and proceeded to the process of upgrading the firmware. Smooth. But after that, when i tried to format the card again, it stalled.

Third, this morning, was excited to take my first photo, and after I hit the shutter, the display was on (blank with all the info) - so was the red light and I waited for about 4 minutes nothing happens. And to my understanding I could keep taking pictures while the camera writes the previous ones. Granted I'm using a slower card (Sandisk Extreme II).

Am I doing something wrong here?

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-30-2012   #47
jsrockit
Moderator
 
jsrockit's Avatar
 
jsrockit is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NYC
Age: 42
Posts: 16,858
I would call Sigma one this one... my DP2m never did any of those things. I am using a very fast card though. Did you try a different card?
__________________
Fujifilm X-Pro2 / X100T / X-E2 / X70 and Nikon DF
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-30-2012   #48
nlubis
Registered User
 
nlubis's Avatar
 
nlubis is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 399
I've just tried it with a different card (Lexar Ultra). It seems to work now. Hope that's about it. Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:15.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.