Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Digital Rangefinder Cameras > Digital Epson R-D1 Digital RF

Digital Epson R-D1 Digital RF A dedicated forum to the first Digital rangefinder camera.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Got my R-D1 back from service! (some actual impressions and shots from Portugal)
Old 07-04-2012   #1
kennylovrin
Registered User
 
kennylovrin is offline
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Malmö, Sweden
Posts: 488
Got my R-D1 back from service! (some actual impressions and shots from Portugal)

Hey

I just thought it would be fun to share some thoughts and shots with you guys now that I finally got my R-D1 back from Epson Japan after a six week wait.

The camera came back with what I suspect is a new top, new shutter button, new rubber grip and a calibrated RF (I suspect it could be new as well). Now it focuses like a champ and I'm very happy.

As I only used it for some test shots before I decided to send it off, I made the decision to take it as my only camera to our annual company holiday we do with work. This would force me to learn the whole RF thing a bit better and actually get a feel for it. So, this is really me dipping my toes in the RF world for the first time other than just shooting a glass of water on my sofa table and that usual stuff.

Obviously I'm a bit too slow with the focus, so in some cases I had to resort to zone focusing as people were just moving to fast for me. I kind of enjoyed it though.

Another thing I noticed is that I pretty consistently framed the photos too high, I think it has something to do with me not being used to see outside of the framelines and that the focusing patch doesn't move while the framelines do. I'm well aware of it now though so I guess it just comes down to practice from here on.

Other than that I am really, really enjoying the experience, didn't find the battery life to be an issue at all, and people almost crapped themselves seeing how awesome the camera is.

The only thing I am not totally enjoying is that I find I get a somewhat plasticky/unnatural look to the shots. I have yet to investigate it more, but it could be the way Aperture renders the RAWs. I'll have to compare with the JPEGs from the camera. I also suspect it could just be that I am used to so much higher resolution that it just "looks weird" to me when I look at these files. It's really subjective though, and right now it's more of a feeling I have than anything else.

Anyway, here's a few shots - run through Aperture and then Silver Efex 2. I hope you enjoy, I'm definitely looking forward to using the camera more.


EPSN0180 by kennylovrin, on Flickr


EPSN0185 by kennylovrin, on Flickr


EPSN0265 by kennylovrin, on Flickr


EPSN0330 by kennylovrin, on Flickr


EPSN0232 by kennylovrin, on Flickr

The whole set is available on my Flickr, there's a few more shots for those interested and I'll be adding more as I go through the photos.

Thanks for your time!

Kenny
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-11-2012   #2
ped
Small brown dog
 
ped's Avatar
 
ped is offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: England
Posts: 844
Very nice pics, especially like #3 and #5.

When you say 'plasticky' do you mean the grey cast on the black area? I use Lightroom and haven't seen this before.

ped
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-11-2012   #3
radical7
Olivier Duong
 
radical7's Avatar
 
radical7 is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 80
I'm sure he meant something else, thats a silver Efex effect I think. Nice shots, would love to do Europe with the RD1
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-11-2012   #4
kennylovrin
Registered User
 
kennylovrin is offline
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Malmö, Sweden
Posts: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by ped View Post
Very nice pics, especially like #3 and #5.

When you say 'plasticky' do you mean the grey cast on the black area? I use Lightroom and haven't seen this before.

ped
Hey, no that washed out black is something I've done in Silver Efex on purpose.

What I mean is that I find in particular trees and skin (mainly faces) to get a somewhat undefined structure to it, which makes it look at bit like plastic. I think though that it is a combination of the low resolution of the sensor and Apertures way of rendering the RAW files. Epson Photolier does a slightly better job, but the difference isn't big enough for me to feel like I want to mix that into my workflow.

Generally though it's not a big thing, it's just something I noticed.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-12-2012   #5
rollbahn
Registered User
 
rollbahn is offline
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 44
kennylovrin - Have you tried RPP? I use Aperture 3 and tried the Epson RAW software but I have found that Raw Photo Processor does a way better job overall on the Epson files. It's free so worth trying.

www.raw-photo-processor.com

Sorry should mention it is mac only
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-18-2012   #6
echuta66
Registered User
 
echuta66's Avatar
 
echuta66 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Age: 48
Posts: 12
How expensive was the servicing? I am thinking of sending mine to be serviced in Japan.
__________________
http://revista.tumblr.com/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/mandingojones/


In a fleeting moment betwixt reality and the make-believe we will be prone to see what others can't, or what others refuse to be cognizant of.




  Reply With Quote

Old 07-19-2012   #7
kennylovrin
Registered User
 
kennylovrin is offline
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Malmö, Sweden
Posts: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by echuta66 View Post
How expensive was the servicing? I am thinking of sending mine to be serviced in Japan.
I can't remember the exact amount on top of my head now, but I think it was somewhere around €250, which then included shipping between places and the fee that Japan Camera Hunter takes for brokering the service and such.

I think the service itself was somewhere around €160. Overall I found the whole thing to be pretty cheap, but it took forever to get it back (I hate waiting though ).
__________________
Website
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-2012   #8
giampiero
Registered User
 
giampiero is offline
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Hi Kenny,

Could you please give us a link where to find information (mail address and more) about this official Epson service?

Thanks,

Giampiero
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-2012   #9
Mr_Flibble
Registered User
 
Mr_Flibble's Avatar
 
Mr_Flibble is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Lowlands
Age: 37
Posts: 2,947
Dangit...I want to send mine in for a tune-up too. But Japan Camera Hunter's website appears to be off-line
__________________
Rick - "If you're gonna shoot, shoot! Don't Talk"
Loaded with film: Leica IIIc

Latest Toys: Paterson Orbital tank, Rollei 35S
Latest Activity: Dutch Photographica Market
My Blog/Galleries
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-2012   #10
ruediger
Registered User
 
ruediger is offline
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Flibble View Post
Dangit...I want to send mine in for a tune-up too. But Japan Camera Hunter's website appears to be off-line
JapanExposures also acts as intermediary to get the Epsons serviced. I got a new sensor into my camera and it was handled very well by JapanExposures.

Cheers
Ruediger
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-2012   #11
back alley
just joe
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: searching for the perfect bag!
Posts: 37,909
jch website is working for me now...
__________________
i don't know what art is...but i know what i like.


heart soul & a camera
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-2012   #12
Mr_Flibble
Registered User
 
Mr_Flibble's Avatar
 
Mr_Flibble is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Lowlands
Age: 37
Posts: 2,947
It's up for me too now, will shoot him a message. Cheers!
__________________
Rick - "If you're gonna shoot, shoot! Don't Talk"
Loaded with film: Leica IIIc

Latest Toys: Paterson Orbital tank, Rollei 35S
Latest Activity: Dutch Photographica Market
My Blog/Galleries
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-2012   #13
giampiero
Registered User
 
giampiero is offline
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks! I just wrote an information request about a complete renewal of my R-D1.

Giampiero
  Reply With Quote

How much do pay for customs - what value do you place on...
Old 10-28-2012   #14
echuta66
Registered User
 
echuta66's Avatar
 
echuta66 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Age: 48
Posts: 12
How much do pay for customs - what value do you place on...

the camera before shipping it off to the middle man?
__________________
http://revista.tumblr.com/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/mandingojones/


In a fleeting moment betwixt reality and the make-believe we will be prone to see what others can't, or what others refuse to be cognizant of.




  Reply With Quote

Old 10-28-2012   #15
kennylovrin
Registered User
 
kennylovrin is offline
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Malmö, Sweden
Posts: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by echuta66 View Post
the camera before shipping it off to the middle man?
I paid no customs, I guess they realized I already owned the camera when it came back. But I kept the receipt I got when I sent it just in case as proof etc. I put 0 value on the package when sending it out, not sure if that was a good or a bad idea though.
__________________
Website
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-28-2012   #16
Kawabatnam
Registered User
 
Kawabatnam is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris, France.
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruediger View Post
JapanExposures also acts as intermediary to get the Epsons serviced. I got a new sensor into my camera and it was handled very well by JapanExposures.

Cheers
Ruediger
Did they really change the sensor? That would be great because my R-D1's sensor is almost dead (some thick vertical lines above ISO 400). How much did it cost you and how long did it take?
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-29-2012   #17
ruediger
Registered User
 
ruediger is offline
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kawabatnam View Post
Did they really change the sensor? That would be great because my R-D1's sensor is almost dead (some thick vertical lines above ISO 400). How much did it cost you and how long did it take?
Yes they changed the sensor. I also had a vertical line showing in all ISO settings and at some point in time it got kind of annoying to fix it. So I sent it in and they changed the sensor and I also got a new display. Time taken is probably not representative since I sent it to JapanExposures just before they closed for summer vacation. Except vacation time everything went pretty fast and smooth. But this repair went not with the normal 10000 Yen. Because they had to exchange the sensor Epson asked for 21600 Yen. Including JapanExposure fee and shipping from and to Epson and then shipping to Germany I had a total cost of 32000 Yen. But now I have a new sensor and a new display. I would say it was totally worth it and I can highly recommend the folks at JapanExposure. Good job.

Cheers
Ruediger
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 16:54.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.