Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Digital Rangefinder Cameras > Digital Epson R-D1 Digital RF

Digital Epson R-D1 Digital RF A dedicated forum to the first Digital rangefinder camera.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

RD1 Battery
Old 10-15-2012   #1
gilpen123
Gil
 
gilpen123's Avatar
 
gilpen123 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 2,277
RD1 Battery

I'll be back with an Epson RD1x again, I'm looking for original batteries (spares) from Japan Exposures but no longer available maybe due to the airline restriction in Japan. Anyone knows where to get the original or a good quality replacement? My experience with Ebay replacement batteries are not good. They don't last long and maybe an issue with camera performance such as black LCD screen.
__________________
Gil

"Imagination is more important than knowledge"
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-2012   #2
back alley
ɹoʇɐɹǝpoɯ moderator
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: searching for the perfect bag!
Posts: 37,628
try 'lenmar' batteries...not the cheapest on ebay but far from the cost of originals...they work well.
__________________
heart soul & a camera

x-e1/23/56/16-50


http://crated.com/backalleyimages
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-2012   #3
gilpen123
Gil
 
gilpen123's Avatar
 
gilpen123 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 2,277
Thanks Joe. I'll look for it.
__________________
Gil

"Imagination is more important than knowledge"
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-16-2012   #4
3jal
Registered User
 
3jal is offline
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
congrats on your new cam gil
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-16-2012   #5
gilpen123
Gil
 
gilpen123's Avatar
 
gilpen123 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 2,277
It was mine sold it then getting it back again. This is my 3rd time to own one again. Thanks.
__________________
Gil

"Imagination is more important than knowledge"
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-16-2012   #6
Mr_Flibble
Registered User
 
Mr_Flibble's Avatar
 
Mr_Flibble is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Lowlands
Age: 37
Posts: 2,897
What kind of batteries did you buy of ebay that posed such a problem?

As I recall the Epson one has 1600mAh capacity. I have two 1800mAh no-brand ones that I bought of Ebay two years ago that work fine.
Two extra 1300mAh ones came with the camera when I bought it back in 2009. These batteries really aren't up to the task.
__________________
Rick - "If you're gonna shoot, shoot! Don't Talk"
Loaded with film: Couple of Riteway film holders

Latest Toys: Leica IIIb, Summar and MOOLY
Latest Activity: Passendaele Museum
My Blog/Galleries
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-16-2012   #7
ninjin
Registered User
 
ninjin's Avatar
 
ninjin is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 17
@gilpen123: Sorry to go slightly off topic, but when you mention "airline restrictions" you are referring to the silly rules regarding batteries by airmail, correct? The only hassle I have with flying out of Japan is that some nutty bureaucrat and/or politician has decided that any camera that doesn't go through the X-ray has to have a picture taken with it.
__________________
Equipment: Some cameras and some lenses.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-16-2012   #8
gilpen123
Gil
 
gilpen123's Avatar
 
gilpen123 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 2,277
I got about 6 batteries from an Ebay seller in Hongkong when I had my 1st RD1. It comes with a free charger. All of them do not last for more than 50 clicks. I forgot the brand though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Flibble View Post
What kind of batteries did you buy of ebay that posed such a problem?

As I recall the Epson one has 1600mAh capacity. I have two 1800mAh no-brand ones that I bought of Ebay two years ago that work fine.
Two extra 1300mAh ones came with the camera when I bought it back in 2009. These batteries really aren't up to the task.
__________________
Gil

"Imagination is more important than knowledge"
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-16-2012   #9
gilpen123
Gil
 
gilpen123's Avatar
 
gilpen123 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 2,277
I think japan has restrictions enforced for some time now. When you buy a used camera from there, batteries will not be shipped together with the camera.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ninjin View Post
@gilpen123: Sorry to go slightly off topic, but when you mention "airline restrictions" you are referring to the silly rules regarding batteries by airmail, correct? The only hassle I have with flying out of Japan is that some nutty bureaucrat and/or politician has decided that any camera that doesn't go through the X-ray has to have a picture taken with it.
__________________
Gil

"Imagination is more important than knowledge"
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-16-2012   #10
Eyal_bin
Registered User
 
Eyal_bin's Avatar
 
Eyal_bin is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Israel
Age: 33
Posts: 118
I also strongly recommend Lenmar batteries, I purchased one a while back and must say it's working better than the original.
__________________
EYAL BINEHAKER|STREET PHOTOGRAPHER
http://WWW.EYALBINEHAKER.COM
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-16-2012   #11
gilpen123
Gil
 
gilpen123's Avatar
 
gilpen123 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 2,277
I think I'll get the Lenmar as well.
__________________
Gil

"Imagination is more important than knowledge"
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:29.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.