Old Film Scanner help
Old 05-05-2012   #1
stompyq
Registered User
 
stompyq is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,052
Old Film Scanner help

First of all some background.

I shoot 35mm and 4x5 and until recently owned a Nikon coolscan 4000 and a very old epson flatbed. Due to some unfortunate life events i sold both scanners several months ago. Last month i finally cobbled together enough to get a Epson v700 flatbed. The scanner is excellent for 4x5 but i have been very disappointed with the 35mm scans. Now i was not expecting miracles but the quality is not good plus it's a PAIN to work with the stupid holders. I am almost at the point of giving up 35mm b/c it really is not worth it to get mediocre quality at the expense of so much time.

So i decided as a last resort i would try a dedicated film scanner again. I can't afford the coolscan (the prices look insane). I can also live without the increased res of the coolscan and have been looking for a cheap older dedicated film scanner. My price range is $150. I ve been looking at the

1. minolta scan dual II/III
2. polarid sprintscan
3. canon FS2710 (the 4000 is over budget).

These all seemed to be cheap but i can't seem to find a lot of information on them online. I can buy a scsi card and have vuescan.

Any experiences or recommendations would be much appreciated. I just want something a little better and less fiddly than the epson. IS this possiable? or should i try harder with the epson?
__________________
www.pramodhsphotos.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-05-2012   #2
Gerry M
Gerry
 
Gerry M's Avatar
 
Gerry M is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Medford, Oregon, U. S.
Posts: 609
If you can find one, the ScanDual IV has worked very well for me. I haven't checked prices lately, but they were ~$200.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-05-2012   #3
stompyq
Registered User
 
stompyq is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,052
Thanks i'll keep a eye out for that one. They do look fairly north of $200 on ebay though
__________________
www.pramodhsphotos.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-05-2012   #4
Gerry M
Gerry
 
Gerry M's Avatar
 
Gerry M is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Medford, Oregon, U. S.
Posts: 609
PM'd you on a SD III.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-05-2012   #5
batterytypehah!
Lord of the Dings
 
batterytypehah!'s Avatar
 
batterytypehah! is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 1,774
I have #2 and 3 on your list but the only SCSI machine I have is an ancient PowerBook. The Polaroid worked well enough until it developed a software issue, but it's noisy like a slide projector. I'd look for the Canon.
__________________
WANTED: Fujimoto/Lucky 70M negative carrier

“Hair-splitting, of course. But hey, it's a LEICA. Probably there are those who get excited about the colour of the hairs you split.” – Roger Hicks

Contax IIa + Leica IIIf + M3 (project) + Zorki-1 (project) + Fuji GS645 + FED-2 + Vitomatic II + Revue 400SE + Olympus XA + more + still more
  Reply With Quote

Multi II
Old 05-05-2012   #6
Dektol Dan
Registered User
 
Dektol Dan is offline
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 503
Multi II

I have a Minolta Dimage Multi II you can have for $200. I think I have everything right down to the original box from when I bought it new. It has very few hours because I also have a Nikon 9000ED.
Just write me, only issue will be shipping if you are far away from Arizona.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-05-2012   #7
ChrisP
Grain Lover
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
ChrisP is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Saskatoon, Sk, Canada
Posts: 342
You can get dedicated Plustek 35mm Scanners for pretty cheap. I've never had a problem with mine
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-05-2012   #8
stompyq
Registered User
 
stompyq is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisP View Post
You can get dedicated Plustek 35mm Scanners for pretty cheap. I've never had a problem with mine
Really? for under $150??
__________________
www.pramodhsphotos.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-05-2012   #9
whitecat
Lone Range(find)er
 
whitecat's Avatar
 
whitecat is offline
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,344
http://www.rangefinderforum.com/phot...00/ppuser/5024
__________________
My Gallery



Zeiss Ikon Zm, Olympus Trip, Rolleiflex FX, Yashica Electro 35, Nikon 35 TI, Nikon 28 TI, Widelux F7, Contax TVS III, Zeiss Ikon 35, Minox, Olympus 35 EE3, Konica AA 35, Minox 35 GT, Canonet QL17, and many more....
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-05-2012   #10
Trius
Waiting on Maitani
 
Trius's Avatar
 
Trius is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rochester, NY & Toronto area
Posts: 7,746
Older dedicated film scanners are often SCSI connected, and as such require some work and exp$ense to integrate with the latest microcomputer platforms.

As for 35mm scans on the V700, I dunno that you can't do some pretty good work.

__________________
My Gallery Flickr
Fine grain is a bourgeois concept

Happiness is APX100 and Rodinal 1:100

A bunch o cameras. Does it really matter?
http://weedram.blogspot.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-05-2012   #11
stompyq
Registered User
 
stompyq is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitecat View Post
That's a flatbed
__________________
www.pramodhsphotos.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-05-2012   #12
stompyq
Registered User
 
stompyq is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trius View Post
Older dedicated film scanners are often SCSI connected, and as such require some work and exp$ense to integrate with the latest microcomputer platforms.

As for 35mm scans on the V700, I dunno that you can't do some pretty good work.

Which is why i have the minolta scanners as a first choice. Meantime i'll keep trying with my v700
__________________
www.pramodhsphotos.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-09-2012   #13
wblynch
Registered User
 
wblynch is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 579
I have a Canon FS2710. It works great on Windows XP. I know you can get it working on Windows 7.

My only complaint is it doesn't have digital ICE for dust removal so there's more post-processing involved. But it's great. In fact I'm using it right now to scan some old Instamatic 126.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-09-2012   #14
btgc
Registered User
 
btgc's Avatar
 
btgc is online now
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,337
I also have FS2710, bought it used after using FS4000US for several years. FS2710 has manual feed and no ICE instead of FS4000 but you know what? I like cheaper model better, probably because 4000 were connected to USB (but it has also SCSI interface, but I used USB out of lazyness) while w/ 2710 there's only one choice - SCSI, which is faster than USB. Also Canon's software for 2710 gives me somehow faster/better results, and I quickly correct each frame anyway, if roll isn't very uniform in terms of exposure - then I adjust first frame and go ahead.

Ys, I have to blow off dust but so I did also with 4000. Lack of ICE can be seen but if I have really good frame it takes a minute or two to clone-stamp few spots - if there's any, which greatly depends on how lab or I are handling film.

This days I'm planning to add Win7 partition to existing XP and get it working also on 7.
__________________
MyFlickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-09-2012   #15
Mablo
Registered User
 
Mablo is offline
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,865
Perhaps you should try the additional 35mm AN glass from betterscanning.com. It helps a lot if your negs are arching. On the other hand, Plustek sells inexpensive but very good 35mm scanners.
__________________
Mablo
Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-10-2012   #16
Trius
Waiting on Maitani
 
Trius's Avatar
 
Trius is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rochester, NY & Toronto area
Posts: 7,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by wblynch View Post
I have a Canon FS2710. It works great on Windows XP. I know you can get it working on Windows 7.

My only complaint is it doesn't have digital ICE for dust removal so there's more post-processing involved. But it's great. In fact I'm using it right now to scan some old Instamatic 126.
After SP 2 on XP, you could no longer use the FS2710 with the Canon software. You need VueScan or other software that can talk to the SCSI card and scanner directly. Same for Windows 7. Also note that newer Windows machines usualy have PCI-e slots, not PCI, so you would need to get a new SCSI adapter. All that, plus the need for 4x5 capability, is what drove me to the Epson V750.
__________________
My Gallery Flickr
Fine grain is a bourgeois concept

Happiness is APX100 and Rodinal 1:100

A bunch o cameras. Does it really matter?
http://weedram.blogspot.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-10-2012   #17
wblynch
Registered User
 
wblynch is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trius View Post
After SP 2 on XP, you could no longer use the FS2710 with the Canon software. You need VueScan or other software that can talk to the SCSI card and scanner directly.
I am afraid that is not true. While I have no direct experience with Win-7 my Win-XP is beyond SP3 with all updates and I use Canocraft software and drivers. I will admit finding the newest versions of the software and drivers was a chore. I have them if anyone needs it.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-10-2012   #18
ChrisP
Grain Lover
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
ChrisP is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Saskatoon, Sk, Canada
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by stompyq View Post
Really? for under $150??
Maybe not under $150 but I got mine for like $210 from B&H. They got on sale quite often
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-10-2012   #19
btgc
Registered User
 
btgc's Avatar
 
btgc is online now
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by wblynch View Post
I am afraid that is not true. While I have no direct experience with Win-7 my Win-XP is beyond SP3 with all updates and I use Canocraft software and drivers. I will admit finding the newest versions of the software and drivers was a chore. I have them if anyone needs it.
Also my XP SP3 and 2710 work together just fine.

I have following, if anyone needs:

aic78xx_aic78u2_win7_2k8r2_x86_v605457.exe - Adaptec SCSI driver for 2904 adapter on Win7
aspi_v471.exe - ASPI over SCSI driver on XP
S2503enx.exe - Canon driver for FS2710 + ScanCraft, works on XP
__________________
MyFlickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-10-2012   #20
lewis44
Registered User
 
lewis44's Avatar
 
lewis44 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 617
If you don't mind SCSI, and it sounds like you don't, I would suggest the Nikon LS-2000. As Good or better than what you have listed and there is a guy that still does a complete service for about $100, if you need one.
Has ICE, Multi Sampling, and auto feed for negative strips up to 6 frames at a time.
You should be able to find one within your budget.
Plus your experience with the Nikon 4000 makes it an easy transition. All is the same with the exception of the SCSI & 2700dpi instead of 4000dpi.
__________________
Randy
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-10-2012   #21
cabbiinc
Slightly Irregular
 
cabbiinc is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 235
I have a Canon FS4000US and a Nikon LS-2000, both connected via SCSI.

The Canon isn't too slow when connected via SCSI when compared to USB (it is USB 1.1 so transfer speeds are nearly glacial), in a pinch I'd still use it via USB connected to the laptop. But the Nikon is by far a faster scanner, primarily because it captures the IR channel on the same pass as the Red Green and Blue channels. Both have InfraRed dust removal (I use VueScan on both), multi-sampling, multi-pass, etc.... The Canon appears to capture more information, but what the Nikon captures appears to be closer to what the human eye sees, so the Nikon is more aesthetically pleasing.

The cost for my Canon was $150.
The Nikon cost me $235 after shipping, but I've seen them for less. Usually when they're less they don't have the film strip feeder though.
The SCSI card was the toughest part about getting it all up and running on my 64 bit computer. I didn't even think that most SCSI PCI cards didn't have drivers for a 64 bit OS.

My previous scanners didn't have dust removal (that worked very well anyways) and frankly I don't even consider a scanner without it anymore.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-10-2012   #22
stompyq
Registered User
 
stompyq is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,052
cabbiinc what kind of scsi card do you have. I have a 64 bit system as well
__________________
www.pramodhsphotos.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-10-2012   #23
cabbiinc
Slightly Irregular
 
cabbiinc is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by stompyq View Post
cabbiinc what kind of scsi card do you have. I have a 64 bit system as well
Same as http://www.rangefinderforum.com/foru...d.php?t=112845
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-10-2012   #24
Trius
Waiting on Maitani
 
Trius's Avatar
 
Trius is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rochester, NY & Toronto area
Posts: 7,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by wblynch View Post
I am afraid that is not true. While I have no direct experience with Win-7 my Win-XP is beyond SP3 with all updates and I use Canocraft software and drivers. I will admit finding the newest versions of the software and drivers was a chore. I have them if anyone needs it.
I scoured the net and didn't find any drivers that would work. So good for you; for me it was far simpler and more useful to buy VueScan. The VueScan Pro license is transportable for multiple scanners on multiple machines and platforms (Win or OS-X) ... I'm now using it with the Epson 750; great investment.
__________________
My Gallery Flickr
Fine grain is a bourgeois concept

Happiness is APX100 and Rodinal 1:100

A bunch o cameras. Does it really matter?
http://weedram.blogspot.com
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:50.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.