Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > 35mm Film Range Finders > Other RF

Other RF Forum for the many Rangefinder cameras that do not have a dedicated RFF forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Nicca IIIb
Old 01-21-2012   #1
briansilcox
Registered User
 
briansilcox is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Nicca IIIb

Hi,

I'm a new member, just purchased a Nicca IIIb, and unfortunately it came with no take up spool. My intent is to use the camera, not sell it or admire it... (although I do admire the build of this camera!)

Can anyone advise if the spool of a Leica III series or similar, or even a Canon RF will work?

I have a Canon 50 1.8 (rigid) and 35 2.8 that I am planning to use with it.

Thanks,

Brian

http/::www.flightof2photography.com

Last edited by briansilcox : 01-21-2012 at 12:49. Reason: sp
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-21-2012   #2
Jack Conrad
Registered User
 
Jack Conrad's Avatar
 
Jack Conrad is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,368
I had a Contax IIIa that had no spool. I looked around on the net
and learned how to hack a plastic spool out of any 35mm film cartridge by cutting a slot in the spool with a hand coping saw.
Very easy to do, took a few minutes and it worked fine.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-21-2012   #3
xayraa33
rangefinder user and fancier
 
xayraa33's Avatar
 
xayraa33 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,217
A Canon bottomloader spool fits my Nicca IIIb and my Leica IIIc and IIIf so any spool from these cameras will fit your Nicca/Tower IIIb. Never tried a Zorki 1 spool but that might work. There was more than one type of Zorki 1 spool though.

It be more problematic to find a spool for the later Nicca like the Type 5 or even the
Nicca/Yashica YF .


Jack Conrad: bottom loader Barnack cameras need a more complex spool than the home made 35mm cassette spool that work on the Contax/Kiev 35mm RF cameras unfortunately.
__________________
My Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-21-2012   #4
briansilcox
Registered User
 
briansilcox is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks to you both! I was thinking the Canon or Leica spool would be easier to find.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 22:41.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.