Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Hardware / Computers / Drives / etc

Hardware / Computers / Drives / etc This is the place to discuss the hardware to keep your digital pics more than just memories.

getting an iPad
Old 08-07-2011   #1
FrankS

getting an iPad

Decided to take the plunge. The announcement of iOS 5 really sealed the deal. It allows the iPad to operate self-sufficienty without the need for another computer to have iTunes loaded. Thoughts?

Old 08-07-2011   #2
OlliL

Good idea

I changed my post processing to the iPad, since NIK software made "Snapseed".
I'm sure you'll like it.

Old 08-07-2011   #3
zauhar

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankS View Post
Decided to take the plunge. The announcement of iOS 5 really sealed the deal. It allows the iPad to operate self-sufficienty without the need for another computer to have iTunes loaded. Thoughts?
As an OS X developer, I am embarrassed I didn't know that about iOS 5. However, I really don't rely much on syncing to another computer, in fact I don't think I have ever done that except during initial setup.

In any event, I think the iPad is a great investment, and have never been sorry I got one. Better in some ways than a laptop. Photos render much better on my iPad than on my MacBook, at least to my eyes.

Randy
Canon 7/50mm f1.4
Leica IIIf/Summitar/Collapsible Summicron
Yashica Electro 35

Old 08-07-2011   #4
back alley
just joe

don't know about the new os but love my original ipad...using it now as a matter of fact.
i'm waiting for the ipad 3 before i upgrade...

Old 08-07-2011   #5
PatrickT
New Rangefinder User

To me, for a portable solution, the Macbook Air 11" is the way to go. You don't have any of the limitations of an iPad with a closed interface, and you get a hardware keyboard which will always be better than a touch screen one.