Rangefinderforum.com

Rangefinderforum.com (http://www.rangefinderforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Hardware / Computers / Drives / etc (http://www.rangefinderforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=151)
-   -   Mac help needed (http://www.rangefinderforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=110152)

FrankS 09-03-2011 09:28

Mac help needed
 
2 unrelated Mac questions:

New MacBook for child's school, other child moves "settings"icon from dock (bottom of screen) to the desktop area of screen, and the icon disappeared. How can I get it back?

Used garage sale G3 desktop computer which came with keyboard but no monitor, can I use a VGA cable to connect computer to normal tv to use it as a monitor?

robert blu 09-03-2011 09:32

Go to finder / application and drag the icon of the application which disappeared back to the dock.
robert

CK Dexter Haven 09-03-2011 11:10

Shift+'Apple'+ "A" gives you your Applications folder. Find the icon of that particular app and click+drag it back to the dock.

Or, find the app using a search. Double click the app to start it. When it's open, the icon will be shown in the dock because it's an active app. If you single click+hold on that app's icon in the dock, you get a dialog that lets you KEEP ICON IN DOCK.

You can then click+drag it to place the icon in a different place within the dock.

No idea about your G3>TV idea. I'd suggest looking on the Apple.com support site, which may have a specific section for the G3. Here's a file regarding the G3 laptop. Check to see what connectors are on the back of your machine.
http://support.apple.com/kb/TA22568?viewlocale=en_US

Here's something about the G3 tower, but i don't know if it's what you need:
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3068

FrankS 09-03-2011 13:41

Thank. You for your help, Robert and CK.

FrankS 09-03-2011 15:41

Bought the G3 computer with keyboard for $20. Bought a VGA cable for $40, have a flatscreen TV with VGA input, and have a mouse. The computer works. Ethernet cable to wireless router, and Internet works.

One really shouldn't sell old computers because of the content, and listings of Internet activity history.

Now, is there a way of resetting everything? There is a password needed before I can update software, like safari.

FrankS 09-03-2011 16:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by patrickjames (Post 1700604)
Get a copy of whatever the last supported operating system is and do a fresh install. I am guessing 10.4 would probably work. Someone here will probably just give it to you if you ask. I would, but I don't have it anymore.

Can anyone help me out with this?

fotomeow 09-03-2011 18:18

Frank,
I often start with Wiki to get info on the different Mac models:
re: the G3: here is some info from wiki:

Maximum Operating System Mac OS X 10.2.8 "Jaguar" and Mac OS 9.2.2^*
^*Unofficially possible to install up to Mac OS 10.4.9 or 10.4.11 on these systems with help of third-party software. See "Upgradability" below.

go to this Wiki page for more info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_Macintosh_G3
(This page also explains different G3 models and their corresponding hardware/operating system)
Now, we were negotiating a price for that 35/2.8 Summaron ..............

good luck, Gary

FrankS 09-03-2011 18:46

Hi Gary, I sure am glad I didn't sell that Summaron in a moment of weakness.

Patrick, here is some info, and thank you for your patience.
Mac OS v10.4
Machine name: power Mac g4
Machine model: power Mac 3,3
Processor 400mhz power pc g4 (2.9)
Memory 320 mb sdram

wgerrard 09-03-2011 19:46

Frank, that's OS X. If you can find the install disks, it probably would not hurt to format the drive so you know what you have. The install routine may offer that as an option. If not, there should be a "Disk Utility" program hanging off the menu.

Check the support section of apple.com and see if they tell you how to reset the password.

Also, that's not an Intel machine. Apple has moved their code to Intel. The latest OS release abandoned the code translator that allowed some programs written for the Motorola platform to run on the Intels.

tj01 09-03-2011 20:29

Why not you create a new user, and log in using this new user. That way all your applications are still there, but you have a fresh ID with no user content and internet history.
Go to System Preferences -> Users & Groups , + a user and give it Administrator roles.

FrankS 09-04-2011 04:35

Thank you all for your help! This was a $20 gamble/experiment. I had no idea of the specs/capabilities of the Mac I was buying. I was thinking to use it to compliment my iPad (photo uploading, iTunes) now that my wife has taken over my netbook. It may or may well not be worth the effort.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:12.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.