PDA

View Full Version : Question on M3


charchar
03-17-2010, 09:11
Just got my camera for a week. Can I shoot ISO 3200 film? The setting only has ASA 1300.

Graham Line
03-17-2010, 09:14
There's no meter in the M3, hence no linkage, so you can set the aperture and shutter speed wherever pleases you.
The dial on the backplate. if that is what you are seeing, is simply a reminder for film type and speed and controls nothing inside the camera.

payasam
03-17-2010, 09:14
The M3 is a manually metered camera and the disc on the back is only to remind the user of the film loaded.

ruby.monkey
03-17-2010, 09:15
You can shoot any speed film you desire. The dial on the back is just a reminder - it has no effect on the camera's functioning.

(Or, to put it another way - what they said)

lewis44
03-17-2010, 09:21
You can shoot whatever ASA you want. The M3 does not have a meter, so use whatever meter you want and set it to 3200 and if the shutter speed and f stop are within that range, fire away.
If yo are talking about the MR Meter, it has 2 openings for ASA. The one on the right of "ASA" when the camera is facing in the shooting direction has ASA 3200.
It's actually 1600 where you are looking and the other side has 3200.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4066/4440570801_99c9b3c503_b.jpg

charchar
03-17-2010, 12:17
Thanks for all the information.
I have MR-4 meter too.

Vincenzo Maielli
04-12-2010, 08:34
Certainly, use the Leicameter MR or any other handheld exposure meters.
Ciao.
Vincenzo