PDA

View Full Version : What's Going On With This Picture? M3 Related

wjlapier
04-15-2009, 13:43
The last two rolls I shot I'm seeing this brighter area in the middle of the picture. Not all pictures show it--it usually shows up in un-cluttered spaces. I'll have to look at my other negs, but so far I've only seen this after the last two rolls. Again, it's not in all pics--look at the second pic and tell me if you see it in that one too.

I purchased the camera not too long ago and have put maybe 20 rolls through it. I doubt it's been CLA'd in a long time, if ever, so it might be time. It was a ebay purchase in close to mint condition. I did test the shutter speeds with the timer when I first got it and eveything worked just fine.

I develop my own B+W film, but I'm new to it. I'm also wondering if this could be developing related.

Any ideas or thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanx--

xayraa33
04-15-2009, 13:51
it looks similar to uneven agitation in the development tank.
try a lab processed colour film to narrow it down

SolaresLarrave
04-15-2009, 13:55
Lens used? I had an old LTM Elmar 90/f4 that flared at the most unexpected moments... and it looked a little like your shots.

I agree with Xayraa... To make sure about your own developing, try some color film processed in a lab and check the negatives.

wjlapier
04-15-2009, 14:00
Another pic from last week at my son's track meet. I didn't see anything similar in any of those pics.

Interesting thought--I've only developed maybe 15 rolls of film ( three sitting on the shelf awaiting their turn ). I do eveything the same, unless the film is different or if the ISO is different. Everything I do is written down. Would banging the tank on the counter be a factor to cause this? What about a different lens? The first two pics above where shot with the Nikkor 13.5cm. This one is from the DR 'cron.

payasam
04-15-2009, 14:45
Knocking the tank on the counter is standard practice to dislodge air bubbles.

BillBingham2