PDA

View Full Version : Hello from a newbie......

Paul Jenkin
11-05-2007, 09:22
Hello there.

I've been a keen photographer for many years - since my dad bought me an Edixaflex 35mm for my 13th birthday in 1974. Wish I still had it....! It's nice to be back to basics as my other gear is Nikon D200 / various lenses. Fantastic equipment - but I still love film.

Via a circuitous route, I'm now the owner of a nice little M6 and 35mm f2 Summicron-M and eager to get my first roll of film back, scanned and ready to post for some critique and advice.

I've seen a LOT of great stuff in the various galleries and, though I doubt I'll be up to that standard in a hurry, I'd welcome a few tips and pointers as you see fit. Be as positively critical as you wish - I see it as part of my learning curve.

My main interests are travel, landscape and street photography - though I did used to do the occasional wedding and portrait for family and friends (non-pro).

I'm not looking to get any more gear right now but if anyone's got any ideas which two lenses might make up a complete set from 28mm to about 90mm, I'd welcome the feedback. Is it worth considering Voigtlander lenses for the M6 or should I save up the pennies for the Leica equivalents?

Anyway, I hope I'll fit in and enjoy my time here. Look forward to hearing from you as and when.

Regards,

Paul.

Paul C. Perkins, MD
11-05-2007, 09:37
I'd opt for a 21 and a 90/100 lens.
No point confining oneself to Leitz offerings - Voigtlander has amazing optics that cost a fraction of the Leitz equivalents. There's also the late 1950's and throughout the 1960's offerings from Canon - which are very good - but becoming more expensive thanks to collectors.

Paul

Uwe_Nds
11-05-2007, 09:42
Hello there.