View Full Version : Amazon Hacked?
bmattock
01-04-2005, 12:56
Way off topic, I know - but can anyone else get to www.amazon.com? When I try, I get a 'redirect' notice that then sends me to www.biblenet.net.
Very strange.
Best Regards,
Bill Mattocks
wlewisiii
01-04-2005, 12:58
Works fine from here. More likely someone screwed up a master DNS update than anything else.
William
bmattock
01-04-2005, 13:03
Originally posted by wlewisiii
Works fine from here. More likely someone screwed up a master DNS update than anything else.
William
Could be, but appears to be intentional - there is a 'redirect' page that appears for a few seconds - it says something about Amazon no longer being in existance - then it redirects to biblenet.net. The 'redirect' screen seemed very amateur night.
Thanks for checking!
Best Regards,
Bill Mattocks
Works for me....Try this. Hit Start->Run-> type CMD
Once in your command window, type this:
ipconfig /flushdns
Could be your box.....
bmattock
01-04-2005, 13:08
Originally posted by g0tr00t
Works for me....Try this. Hit Start->Run-> type CMD
Once in your command window, type this:
ipconfig /flushdns
Could be your box.....
Didn't help. I grabbed the URL I get redirected to, though:
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/subst/home/home.html
It displays for a second or two...
Then, I get pushed to biblenet.net.
For some reason, Amazon is redirecting me to their own "It ain't here" URL, and then THEY are pushing me to biblenet.net. Really!
Hey! Are they trying to tell me something?
Best Regards,
Bill Mattocks
That link works for me Bill. I suspect your computer is infected by pop-up virus but you're using Linux, not Windows, right?
Perhaps a message from a higher power?
I am apparently beyond savior as I was able to get into the amazon site without a problem.
bmattock
01-04-2005, 13:36
Originally posted by Kris
That link works for me Bill. I suspect your computer is infected by pop-up virus but you're using Linux, not Windows, right?
I'm running Linux from home. No virus.
Best Regards,
Bill Mattocks
Oh, could be the Mozilla/Firefox hack. It was made public today. I can't remember what it was only it was something about spoofing.
Sorry...I will look for it.
bmattock
01-04-2005, 16:43
David,
Not a big deal, seems to have stopped now. Ever thang is back to normal. Huh. Who knows?
Best Regards,
Bill Mattocks
Okay, now that we've confirmed that your computer was temporarily redirected... you can tell your spouse that it was evil hackers who diverted your computer to eBay and bought all that RF gear! And you'd better not try to return it, or they might do something even worse...
oftheherd
01-05-2005, 02:43
Originally posted by jlw
Okay, now that we've confirmed that your computer was temporarily redirected... you can tell your spouse that it was evil hackers who diverted your computer to eBay and bought all that RF gear! And you'd better not try to return it, or they might do something even worse...
"Only from the mind of ... " ;)
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.