View Full Version : Why is this M2 so low?
Why is this M2 so low? Am I missing something?
http://cgi.ebay.com/The-very-Rare-Leica-M2R-camera_W0QQitemZ7559795502QQcategoryZ30030QQrdZ1QQ cmdZViewItem
Hong Kong and wire transfer only would be my guess :rolleyes:
shaaktiman
11-09-2005, 18:58
Probably because it's in china and this guy only accepts western union transfers as payment.
Guaranteed you would never see that camera if you won the auction.
Gabriel M.A.
11-09-2005, 19:06
The bid right now is low, it doesn't mean that the price for it is low; notice there's a reserve. Who knows if the reserve is high or low.
JoeFriday
11-09-2005, 19:37
someone asked if the seller would accept Paypal and he agreed as long as the buyer picked up the paypal fees.. so you'd be covered by your credit card company if the camera never arrived
I would never pay by Western Union, but I'd feel somewhat safe buying this through Paypal with a credit card
shaaktiman
11-09-2005, 19:41
Thanks Brett, didn't see that.
But I'll bet it's still why not too many people have gone for it.
W.U. request to china just sets off alarm bells for lots of folks, myself included.
laptoprob
11-09-2005, 21:52
WU is tricky, very true. But this guy has sold various camera equipment to everywhere. No reason not to trust him. Over 4 hours to go...
Rob.
Part of his problem might be his listing title. By using "M2R" rather than "M2-R" he excludes anyone who searches specifically for "M2" (including moi. I've been searching M2's on eBay since Oscar Barnack was in grammar school). Asking only for Western Union transfers is also a major turn-off.
If I hadn't just bought an M2 about 12 hrs. ago I would be all over this one.
I would be surprised if this will remain low at the end of the auction. Lets see
Brian Sweeney
11-10-2005, 01:06
People hate reserve auctions for rare cameras. No clue to what the reserve is. The camera is in "user" condition. He would have done better to set a reasonable starting bid and forget the reserve.
Pherdinand
11-10-2005, 02:43
$650 and reserve not met.
Is that low??? [sorry for the ignorant but honest question]
If it's a genuine article I would have expected it to make over $1000
elcud35rc
11-10-2005, 03:07
I believe that by using paypal it is trackable and you have protection if don't recieve the item.
But by using other methods of payment, they can't track it and if you don't get your item, your money is down the drain. eg. cash
Oh well, it didn't end up low. Even though 650 wasn't enough to meet the reserve. When I looked at it first it was 73.00 or some such thing.. a few hours makes a difference
Gabriel M.A.
11-10-2005, 18:47
I'd say $650 and the reserve was not met, no: the M2 is not "low".
The question is: why is this M2 "so high"?
xayraa33
11-10-2005, 20:17
the Leica M2-R was made after the M2 was out of production(1967), in not too great a quantity, It came equiped with a dual range Summicron & if my memory serves me correct, with a quick film load system, alla Leica M4.
I was looking at the auction pic that shows the baseplate off the camera, and I don't see a quickload gizmo at the takeup spool end, at least not one resembling the add-on quickload in my M2... And I can't see the takeup spool itself either...
xayraa33
11-10-2005, 22:22
the one I saw for sale in 1980 had the quick film load system, I also double checked the"Leica Illustrated Guide" by James L . Lager, page 53, he says," it is basically an M2 with self timer, equipped with the rapid film loading system of the Leica M4". Serial number range was: 1248201- 1250200.
xayraa33
11-10-2005, 22:47
The baseplate in that Eb*y picture clearly shows the " steering wheel" that engages the three pronged film leader catch, that is inside the camera body, just like on a Leica M4.
Ok, I saw that "steering wheel" in the auction pic but didn't know it's part of the M4-type loading. Quite different from the earlier add-on quickload kit, which has a sort of blade to urge the film upwards to make sure the sprocket holes are engaged. Takeup spool must be significantly different too.
That camera is extremely cheap compared to this guy's website-whew!!
http://www.schouten-select.com/
A (albeit mint) M2 for 1700 Euro???
ezio gallino
11-11-2005, 09:22
last week thare have been 20 or 30 MP and M7 from a german who claimed to live in china. 150 feedback positive but all in buying small cheap things with nothing in common with photostuff. 2 days later all offers disappeared. Ebay for costly stuff is dangerous.
I placed an offer for a noctilux and some day later a certain "tania rank of london" proposed me to buy 5 at $5000 through Western Union. Noctilux as eggs....
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.