PDA

View Full Version : GXR issues


dallard
04-05-2012, 12:28
My GXR has all the coating coming off the LCD screen and dust on the sensor of one of the "sealed" units. I emailed CRIS and they want me to ship it to them in order to get a quote. It's my understanding that this is a common problem with Ricoh LCD's and I don't feel like paying for shipping when all I want is a general idea of price so has anyone else had these repairs done? If so, how much did it cost you?

dallard
04-07-2012, 16:29
Here's what's happening to the LCD. This is an old photo, it's actually worse now.

Archiver
04-07-2012, 21:21
Ricoh's LCD is a double-edged sword. It is easily one of the clearest and most visible of any camera of its type. On the other hand, I've seen a number of people with the coating peeling in the way you've shown. For others it is MUCH worse. That has never happened to me as a hard adhesive protector goes on when I get my cameras.

As for the module getting dust on the sensor, I've heard of this but I have not experienced it. I hope that service takes care of both issues, but in the future, get an LCD protector like the Acmaxx.

dovi
04-07-2012, 22:43
I emailed criscam in sept last year asking about an estimate for sensor dust- no response. I called them and was told they are not familiar with the camera! I clone it out and have resolved to step away from ricoh because of the absence of support. Too expensive for too little. I think that since it is advertised around the advantages of a sealed system, Ricoh should be eager to clear up any challenges to it's claims about the sealed unit. I like the camera and was even considering the new zoom but your post puts it all back in perspective: the competition does have support , dust removal systems, and lenses that can be carried forward to other bodies.. I think Ricoh can be considered the "Bleeding Edge" The new offerings from Oly look very promising. I just prefer to use what I have and keep money in my pocket.

dallard
04-08-2012, 14:13
Thanks for the response guys.
@Archiver: This is my first Ricoh and I had no idea about the LCD issues. You're right about it being very clear but when this happens :bang:
@dovi: I got a response from criscam the next day after I emailed but I have no idea why they can't just tell me how much it costs to fix an LCD, especially when it's a continual problem. What really irritates me though is that I was planning on selling the unit and body (I even had an ad here on RFF for a couple weeks) and these purely cosmetic things really hurt the resale value. I dug out my receipt the other day to see if it was still under warranty (alas, it ran out a week ago :bang:) and realized this thing has lost value faster than a half eaten box of cookies. In retrospect, I wish I had gone with the X100. At the time I was irritated with all the hype over it so I got the GXR just out of stubbornness. Even though I love the Ricoh user interface and shooting experience, I'm so through with this system.

dallard
04-10-2012, 16:37
Rant over. Back to the main point...has anyone had lcd/module dust repairs done? How much did it cost?

TKH
04-10-2012, 19:55
Dust repair.
My A12 50mm needs one last week. Sent it to Ricoh Germany and received it fixed in four working days! Perfect work and costs nothing. Was in warranty, one year old.


http://img850.imageshack.us/img850/7339/r0015941.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/850/r0015941.jpg/)

http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/3295/r0015949.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/190/r0015949.jpg/)


Rainer