PDA

View Full Version : lol ,check this out


xayraa33
10-03-2005, 09:05
Yea right!

Gabriel M.A.
10-03-2005, 09:09
errr...I'm not going to open some attachment on my desktop just like that...is it a picture?

xayraa33
10-03-2005, 09:10
still have not figured out how to add an attachment! help please!

kiev4a
10-03-2005, 09:10
Yea right!


When I click on the link I get a message asking me if I want to download an unknown file. Not likely

xayraa33
10-03-2005, 09:17
it was meant to be an attachment not a file, an eb*y site. still have not figured how to attach this to a thread yet, any suggestions?

Paul T.
10-03-2005, 09:19
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=6566686125&ru=http://search.ebay.co.uk:80/6566686125_W0QQfromZR40QQfviZ1

Sale price: $4,000!

xayraa33
10-03-2005, 09:24
Thanx Paul T, that was what I wanted to show on the thread... , can you please explain to my computer challanged self ,on how its done.

Paul T.
10-03-2005, 09:34
If it's the link, you simply paste the link into the thread. I'll try and attach a pic of the offending item. As the seller is quite obviously passing off a $40 camera as a $4000 one, I presume no one will mind if we laugh at this 'promo' photo...

This 'WWII" camera is based, I thnk on a Zorki 4 - the camera once memorably described as a 'normal Zorki that's been hit with an ugly stick'...

Paul T.
10-03-2005, 09:36
second try...

xayraa33
10-03-2005, 09:39
Its based on the 2nd version of the Fed 2. I will try to figure out how to paste a link into a thread. Will make foolish mistakes, but I have to learn.

taffer
10-03-2005, 09:41
The ugliest Fed-2 I've ever seen :)

Since when is ebay offering fool's day special listings ? :D

xayraa33
10-03-2005, 09:46
real cheap price toohttp://cgi.ebay.ca/W-W-II-German-military-camera-leica-Ernst-Wetzlar_W0QQitemZ6566686125QQcategoryZ4078QQrdZ1QQ cmdZViewItem

xayraa33
10-03-2005, 09:48
still trying

RJBender
10-03-2005, 10:25
W.W.II ? German military? camera leica- Ernst Wetzlar
Luftwaffen eigentum?? Won this camera on auction last month. I know little about cameras but nothing from military. Will try to describe as best as I can. First the case is all leather- real and thick. There are 2 german military imprints - hallmarks on the bottom of leather.. In the front is written- LEICA. The lens looks ok. it is written summicron. I think it is made from ERNST LEITZ WETZLAR- Dont know nothing about this maker!!??. There are 2 small eagles - one in the front cap - one on the top.Will send additional pictures of those who want to see more details.Shutter works well on different speeds.Focusing is working I think properly. Auto shutter works well as well. Other than that a little dust outside. Please note that this item is sold as is- no guarantees from any kind. All sales are final with no return or refund- regarding functionality of the camera- I`ve sold in the past many and can guarantee what I`ve wrote earlier, but I`ve never tested the camera with film!!. :confused:

I wonder why Leica doesn't file VERO complaints on this kind of stuff:
http://pages.ebay.com/help/confidence/vero-rights-owner.html

R.J.

FrankS
10-03-2005, 10:28
Auto shutter works well as well.

Wow! This one even has something called an auto-shutter. Someone should grab this right away! :)

johne
10-03-2005, 10:34
If this be a product of a war-time German factory, no doubt it was the infamous KRAP Werks. Johne

RJBender
10-03-2005, 10:38
Auto shutter works well as well.

Wow! This one even has something called an auto-shutter. Someone should grab this right away! :)

I missed that. I guess that means the shutter release button is stuck.

R.J.

reagan
10-03-2005, 12:24
What's with the big black Paintbrush dots on the lens cap and top? Obviously added and placed to cover up something... some imperfection ~ naaa, not on this gem .... or .... the finger prints of the counterfeiter wannbe and butcher of this fine FSU instrument. Hmmmm... the plot thickens. :confused:

RJBender
10-03-2005, 13:32
What's with the big black Paintbrush dots on the lens cap and top? Obviously added and placed to cover up something... some imperfection ~ naaa, not on this gem .... or .... the finger prints of the counterfeiter wannbe and butcher of this fine FSU instrument. Hmmmm... the plot thickens. :confused:

The seller is probably trying to hide the swastika emblems. eBay Uk has special rules:

eBay has always exercised judgment in allowing or disallowing certain listings consistent with the spirit of a world wide community. Therefore, eBay will judiciously disallow listings or items that promote hatred, violence, or racial intolerance, including items that promote organizations (such as KKK, Nazi, neo-Nazis, Aryan Nation) who profess such views. For example, eBay will generally remove items that bear the marks of such organisations, such as relics from the KKK or Nazi helmets....
Examples of items that will generally be removed:
Items that bear symbols of the Nazis, the SS, or the KKK, including authentic German WWII memorabilia that bears such marks, whether visible or covered.
http://pages.ebay.co.uk/help/policies/offensive.html

Several years ago, Yahoo got in trouble with French authorities for allowing the sale of Nazi memorabilia on their internet auction site.
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2000/11/06/yahoo_legally_obliged_to_ban/

R.J.

reagan
10-03-2005, 15:17
The seller is probably trying to hide the swastika emblems. eBay Uk has special rules:

Good research R.J. I didn't have a clue. Too bad the dots weren't big enough to cover the whole wretched thing.

xayraa33
10-03-2005, 15:45
Auction ened early, Item lost or broken, Hmm.., seller must have gotten a lot of flack over trying to sell a $ 25.00 item for four grand.

xayraa33
10-03-2005, 16:23
I wonder if it was the seller who ended the auction early? or Eb*y?

RichardS
10-03-2005, 16:29
still trying

You ran some of your typing into the URL. Leave a space before the http and it should work.

Dick

xayraa33
10-03-2005, 16:38
thank you Dick, I will try that. I will figure this out someday.

hugivza
10-04-2005, 20:17
They say that confession is good for the soul, but why would one wish to confess in an international forum such as the baying auction house, that one had been "done like a dinner"; and then somewhat inexpertly, try to inveigle some other poor sucker down the same road?

xayraa33
10-05-2005, 07:25
That is a very good question hugivza, I thought of the same thing myself. I doubt if that seller paid anything near his/her asking price though.

John Robertson
10-05-2005, 20:18
All I can say is, that if someone falls for this, Hell mend them!! They deserve it!!!
The term "lambs to the slaughter" comes to mind!!!
We have quite a few TV programmes which show people auctioning and buying "collectibles" I never fail to be amazed at the crap some people will buy!

rotzbremse
10-11-2005, 07:26
It's worth $10 maybe. Too bad it is "broken" .... our loss.

oljim
10-11-2005, 08:08
I missed that. I guess that means the shutter release button is stuck.

R.J.


Self-timer maybe?

I notice the seller's return policy is not exactly flexible. Therefore, for my money, I think he's learned he got swindled and is simply trying to cut his losses in the same way.