PDA

View Full Version : Someone is confused....


captainslack
09-12-2005, 11:01
Today, I discovered Ebay has a Wholesale section. In the Cameras & Photo subsection, I found this auction:

http://cgi.ebay.com/CANON-S2_W0QQitemZ7545055475QQcategoryZ45089QQrdZ1QQcmdZ ViewItem

Obviously, the seller is a newbie (zero feedback) who wasn't paying attention when he/she made the listing, as the camera clearly has "Nikon" written on it. Someone is going to get a good deal, if they're willing to take a chance on this person. Hopefully someone reading this.

It would be me if I wasn't so broke. :bang:

kiev4a
09-12-2005, 11:40
Of course the seller may know exactly what they are doing, too. Bidders go nuts thinking they are getting a deal, then they receive a Canon RF from the '70s worth maybe $25.

Brian Sweeney
09-12-2005, 12:46
This is a zero-feedback seller that has put up over 20 items from the get-go. Maybe an old-timer in a camera shop that is selling, or an older non-computer savvy collector that is selling, or maybe a scam artist. One thing is for sure, they can't type.

Anyone want a Kodak Ratina!

johne
09-12-2005, 12:55
One might note tht this seller has 38 other items listed on E-bay. Just an observation.
Johne

RichardS
09-12-2005, 14:24
A Canon rangefinder from the '70s is worth much, much more than $25. That might be a correct price for a Canonet.

It looks more like a Nikon then it does either a Contax or Kiev. The top of the camera doesn't look like any Contax or Kiev that I have ever seen. I wish there were better pictures of it. It looks like it could have a film advance lever which I don't believe any Nikon, Contax or Kiev ever had.

I would have a few questions to ask the seller before I would bid on it.

Dick

Goodyear
09-12-2005, 14:29
It looks like it could have a film advance lever which I don't believe any Nikon, Contax or Kiev ever had.I don't know the cameras at all, but a quick Google and check on CQ seems to suggest the S2 did indeed have an advance lever.

mac_wt
09-12-2005, 15:03
If you compare the photo to the ones in his other auctions (lighting, background, quality), it seems genuine. If I lived in the US, I would bid on it. The risk of an overseas shipment from an inexperienced seller (shipping cost, packaging, customs,...) seems a bit to high to me.

Wim

jdos2
09-12-2005, 15:07
That looks to me like a Nikon S2, indeed, but mislabled with "Canon" and with a lens of dubious focusing ability close up...

Hmmm. I'm not necessarily suggesting fraud at this point, but the spidey sense is tingling.

kiev4a
09-12-2005, 15:56
Didn't the Nikon SP have a film advance lever?

wlewisiii
09-12-2005, 16:03
It's a very unusual assortment of things that he has up for sale with minimal descriptions. Some prices seem way off as well. Kind feels like someone with a little camera knowledge trying to liquidate the back room of an old camera shop. Very strange indeed. And the S2 is the only one of the interchangables with a lens and it's not a correct lens...

William

dexdog
09-12-2005, 17:04
I especially like the Ratina that is listed.

Skinny McGee
09-12-2005, 17:05
How could you possibly call this a Canon with the word NIKON written clearly across the front?